• Register Today It's free!

Front Pumpkin swap

Xplorer92

Reaction score
City, State
Richmond, VA
Year, Model & Trim Level
'92 XLT/'00 Jeep Wrangler
I have a '92 X 4x4 with stock 3:27 gears I've been turning 33s for several months now with no problem except on steep inclines and when towing. I have a set of stock 3:73 gears (front pumpkin and rear axle) off of another X, the rear axle swap is gravy, but I'm a little concerned with the front swap, Primarily because I don't have the whole drivers side axle I only have the pumpkin. Is it as simple as just swaping them out and making sure the gasket is sealed or is it more involved? I know I will have to move the radius arm but thats no big deal. If anyone has any heads up for me or some helpful tips they want to post I would really appreciate it. :) Thank You

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

thats it. Disconnect driveshaft pull the axles take the 10 bolts out and the one behind the radius arm. clean the gasket area up and put it all back together. Only possible thing you may want to consider is pulling the c-clip off the axle inside the diff and then putting a sping in the slip yoke on the passanger side axle. This is a mod you have to do when you instal a lunch box locker and also just makes it easier to replace if you ever break the inner u joint.

Thanks for advice, this info will help this project go alot smoother. Another question though. I would eventually like to add lockers to my diffs, would it be wise for me to go ahead and lock it up while I have it all apart, or is this an expensive mod that may be more then an average wrench turner can handle? Do I need special tools to do this?

I would consider putting a lunch box locker in it while you have it out.

Xplorer92 said: