Hi, I'm a Ford Engineer, and I can't route spark plug wires to save my life. | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Hi, I'm a Ford Engineer, and I can't route spark plug wires to save my life.

SVO LOU

Reaction score
City, State
Greenville, SC
Year, Model & Trim Level
97 Mountaineer AWD
Rant on>>>>

97 5.0...Changed wires today and I have to ask myself what kind of rocket scientist decided to route ONE wire all by itself sitting ON the passenger-side valve cover! Would it be so hard to design the secondary ignition so that each bank had its own coil pack?
I'm better now.

<<<<OK, Rant off.

Lou

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

It was probably an intern.

I know what you mean. Plus those clips they use to hold the plugwires are imposible to un-snap too :shoot:

i find that the silly clips ford uses on many things are very easy to break when you are trying to undo them, one that comes to mind is the clips that hold the headlight bulb to the socket....i always tend to break those stpuid basturds

One word, ZIPTIES, or is that two words:D

nah... its only two words if you type ZIP TIES with a space. so your cool!

and i dread the day i do my plugs. i've seen so much pain and suffering about them here.

Lou,

Didn't I used to talk with you on the phone @ Motion Dynamics????

jeff

Should have bought a 4.0. The plugs are a breeze to change. Plug wires are easy too. I can imagine that the 5.0 would be a bit tight.

the SOHC sucks too. Last time I did them I got the wires for the OHV twice so this time I kept asking are you sure they are right?