Dismiss Notice

Register Today It's free! This box will disappear once registered!

HID Lights

Discussion in '2001-2005 Explorer Sport Trac' started by interscope8, August 4, 2011.

• Searches ExplorerForum.com
    1. interscope8

interscope8 Well-Known Member

City, State:
      Purdue University
      Year, Model & Trim Level:
      2001 Sport Trac 4x4
      Hey all, just decided to put this at the top of my to-do list. I almost hit a dear the other night and as it turns out my bulbs are the original ones from the factory... time for new ones anyway lol. Might as well get HID ones.

I found some black faced headlights with an HID kit and 4300 bulbs. Have black taillights on the way and need some help getting LED or similar bulbs there.

Im a novice to all this lighting and what not. Anything I need to look for when I buy this stuff?
      For example, the headlights im getting come with 4300k 9007 Bulbs. These will work with my truck right?

2. Support EF

Join the Elite Explorers for $20

Explorer Forum has probably saved you that much already, and will continue to save you money as you learn how to diagnose fix problems yourself and learn which modifications work without having to experiment on your own. Elite Explorer members see practically no ads, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create more private Conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.

3. BrianDye

BrianDye I'll have another...

City, State:
      Monroe, MI
      2006 XLT
      Yes, 9007 is your headlight bulb. Going the route of HID, just throwing them in a reflector housing is gonna throw off weird patterns in the road, plus alot of glare, causing every oncoming driver to think your driving with your brights on. You CAN aim them to help that, but theres still gonna be glare. You'll also loose your high beams.