Dismiss Notice

Register Today It's free! This box will disappear once registered!

I want to take my '93 EB off road!

Discussion in 'Stock 1991 - 1994 Explorers' started by dirtfiend365, June 18, 2011.

• Searches ExplorerForum.com
    1. dirtfiend365

dirtfiend365 New Member

City, State:
      310, California
      Year, Model & Trim Level:
      '93 Eddie Bauer
      So just picked up a '93 eddie bauer explorer about a week ago.. I plan on keeping this truck and fixing it up here and there, a decent lift will eventually be nice, but im doing what I can for now. Im pretty new to the 4x4 scene, I have owned a couple 4x4's in the past and took them offroad but not enough to say I really have any experience.

Anyways.. So far I have fixed a few issues with the truck. I replaced the old rusted out leaking muffler, installed new radius arm bushings that were just awful (no rubber was left :rolleyes:) oil change, tranny fluid/filter, flushed the radiator, and replaced some broken fuses so now everything works :). The truck has 182k miles on the chassis but only about 16k on the rebuilt motor and trans. The truck drove like shit but runs really really good, and now It rides much more comfortably with the bushings in place. It has new tires, new battery, new water pump, and a new starter.

I would like to take it off road with the wife but im worried that the 17 year old suspension/drivetrain will give out or something will break.. So my question is what should i go through or replace before I really put her in 4x4? Any maintenance suggestions? Thanks

[​IMG]

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

2. Support EF

Join the Elite Explorers for $20