I want to take my '93 EB off road! | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

I want to take my '93 EB off road!

dirtfiend365

Reaction score
City, State
310, California
Year, Model & Trim Level
'93 Eddie Bauer
So just picked up a '93 eddie bauer explorer about a week ago.. I plan on keeping this truck and fixing it up here and there, a decent lift will eventually be nice, but im doing what I can for now. Im pretty new to the 4x4 scene, I have owned a couple 4x4's in the past and took them offroad but not enough to say I really have any experience.

Anyways.. So far I have fixed a few issues with the truck. I replaced the old rusted out leaking muffler, installed new radius arm bushings that were just awful (no rubber was left :rolleyes:) oil change, tranny fluid/filter, flushed the radiator, and replaced some broken fuses so now everything works :). The truck has 182k miles on the chassis but only about 16k on the rebuilt motor and trans. The truck drove like **** but runs really really good, and now It rides much more comfortably with the bushings in place. It has new tires, new battery, new water pump, and a new starter.

I would like to take it off road with the wife but im worried that the 17 year old suspension/drivetrain will give out or something will break.. So my question is what should i go through or replace before I really put her in 4x4? Any maintenance suggestions? Thanks

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Overall reliability... see if you can find the maintenance schedule in the owners manual or supplement, and get everything caught up. Probably overdue for diff and transfer fluid changes. If you have auto hubs, consider going to manual ones.