Intake Manifold Gasket or Head Gasket? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Intake Manifold Gasket or Head Gasket?

phil.o

Reaction score
City, State
pondrejack@gmail.com
Year, Model & Trim Level
pondrejack@gmail.com
I've been trying to diagnose this problem for a little bit now and I want to see if anyone has an opinion out there. I'm pretty new to car repair. I'm going to get in there this weekend I just want to have it kind of nailed down before I get there.

I know I have a misfire on cylinders 5 and 6. I have a slight coolant leak coming from the engine(the exact location I'm not sure). My oil is not milky. The spark plug from cylinder 5 is coming out completely black. I have just a touch of white smoke coming out of the back, but it's cold in Jersey and it goes away pretty quickly.

The computer reading came up with lean gas mixture and misfire on cylinder 5 and 6. The it said were intake manifold gasket,mass air flow sensor, plugs, wires, coils. I replaced everything and cleaned the MAS by myself last weekend. The intake manifold gasket is the last thing on the list.

I haven't done a compression test but I'm almost positive that it will come up with at least cylinder 5 being bad. If that is the case could it be intake manifold gaskets? Or would it have to be farther down?

If anyone can point me in the right direction I would be very grateful. I have no choice but to do the work myself because these problems are going to cost more than I have in my bank account if I pay a mechanic(If you are a mechanic out there: you're work is very valuable and appreciated but I'm a bit lean funds wise). So I'm either doing the intake manifold gaskets or going deeper to do head gaskets and doing the head gaskets(which I've never attempted) makes me a bit nervous.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.