Leak discovered - Could this be the dreaded radiator failure? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Leak discovered - Could this be the dreaded radiator failure?

Radio479

Reaction score
City, State
MA
Year, Model & Trim Level
2006 EB Exp.
Hi all,

New to the forum after some lurking but I am not able to to find what I am looking for this time with searches. I know about the issues with the radiator in the 06 explorer. I have an 06 4.6L 8 cyl. It's new to me since last month. I bought it with an extended warr. through the Honday dealer I bought from. I am by no means a mechanical guy when it comes to cars so please deal with my ignorance.

I moved my car in the driveway this morning to do some work on it. I noticed under the engine that there was a greasy feeling liquid in a tiny pool below what I think is the cooling system. The vehicle ran for less than a second this morning. I looked in the spot I was in last night after my less than 10 minute ride home and noticed a spot a bit large. I ran the in place and the leak sped up when I looked underneath about 10 minutes later.

I have attached a photo of the affected area underneath and I am hoping someone can tell me what I am looking at based on this photo.

Thank you!

-7A56-42C3-BBF9-47644C1D9DAE-2876-00000369EEA63FF0.jpg

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

you have an ac leak.

Well that is a bit reassuring thank you for the reply.

I am pretty clueless on the operation. Just for my own knowledge (not questioning you) can you explain how you come to that conclusion? Simply based on location or is it something else?

Also, the leak I should add is closer to the drivers side, if that changes anything.

Thank you.

I also just realized I posted this in the wrong sub-forum. Sorry about that.

06 coolant is premium gold.