Dismiss Notice

Register Today It's free! This box and some ads will disappear once registered!

Looking to buy CB system - suggestions?

Discussion in 'Ham Radio - CB - Trail Communications' started by Garrett, April 11, 1999.

^^Searches ExplorerForum.com^^

1. Garrett

Garrett Guest

I have looked in some catalogs at systems ranging from $45-$150. What's the difference? Is the $45 CB a piece of crud? I'm new to these, but want a form of emergency communication in my Navajo for when I get stuck. Also, are the antennas that route through the stock FM/AM radio antenna any good? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated, as would pointers. Thanks!

2. Support EF

Join the Elite Explorers for $20

Explorer Forum has probably saved you that much already, and will continue to save you money as you learn how to diagnose fix problems yourself and learn which modifications work without having to experiment on your own. Elite Explorer members see practically no ads, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create more private Conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.

3. Sandy

Sandy Guest

Garrett - Hi, I will try to answer your questions. Everyone has a different opinion of radios and especially CBs. Like everything else cost is in direct proportion to what you get. If you pay more then you get more but the real question is how much do you need. Check with your buddies to see what they are using and how they sound to the others on the trail.
    The CB is not a long range radio, so no matter how much you pay for a mobile rig with a mobile antenna you are not going to talk to your buddy 10 miles away, unless certain conditions are in effect, but lets not get into that.