• Register Today It's free!

More Engine Noise...

Tyleryac

Reaction score
City, State
NJ
Year, Model & Trim Level
2005 Ford Explorer XLT
1st video. Warm engine at idle. Sound seems to be coming from drivers side.

2nd video. Shut down warm engine.

What's going on?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Chain noise / Valve-train noise.

I figured. Do I have anything to worry about for the next year?

I can not answer that. I have zero experience with the 4.0 V6 motors. But with the 4 timing chains and some catastrophic failure I have seen of them, I would pull a timing chain cover or rocker cover to see what is going on.

Do you think I should have my mechanic look?

Also, what timing componet(s) can be replaced WITHOUT engine removal?

I went to see my mechanic today and he told me that he doesn't deal with chains and told me to take it to the dealer ASAP....here we go with the $$$$$

Start with replacing the tensioner, $70 part. Also make sure oil is in good operating range. I am starting to get into this problem with mine, I have the tensioners at home I just need to spend the time to put them in.

You might get lucky and find it to be the front tensioner is broken which can be fixed in the truck. You can't do the back timing chain with the engine in the truck and the lower balance shaft tensioner is a bear to do in the truck.

The main front tensioner can be changed by a novice mechanic, no special tools are required. If the tensioner going to the drivers head is bad then you will need to reset the timing for it to run corrrectly.

This is why it's at the dealership.

I don't want any mechanic doing engine work. I went to my regular mechanic and he recommended taking it straight to the dealer.

If the engine needs to be taken out for the rear chain, should I ask them to do anything else such as the rear main seal?