More horses | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

wes_99ebx

Reaction score
City, State
CA
Year, Model & Trim Level
99 Eddie Bauer 5.0 V8
I just recently bought a 99 5.0 EB. I bought an explorer cause I wanted to learn how to work on my truck, customize it and upgrade it myself, and cause I've always really liked these trucks. Until a couple weeks ago I knew absolutely nothing about cars, and since my purchase, I've been pouring through this site voraciously for info, so much that I'm failing a couple classes now. Right now I'm looking at my options for upping my hp, but I'm a student, so I have a tight budget. Very glad I found a 5.0 for a good price.

I wanted to get a cone filter for a CAI, and leave the rest of the intake stock to save money, since I heard the stock tube isn't really that restrictive. I've been trying to find a filter that will fit, but I can't find any specifically for the 99 5.0. Does this mean I just need an adapter?

I also wanted to upgrade the exhaust but Im not sure how I should go about that. Ive heard the Mac cat back is a great option, and I like the idea of installing it myself, but I've also heard cat back kits are a waste of money, and its better to find a good muffler and have a local shop do the rest. I'd really prefer to do it myself as that was the idea behind buying this truck. My ex is my daily driver so I don't want to have to wait for a shop to get around to it, but I also don't want to throw away $300 on what could end up being just a glorified fart can.