Mud Flaps / Splash Guards / DIY Pics | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Mud Flaps / Splash Guards / DIY Pics

JDraper

Somewhat Functional
Moderator Emeritus
Reaction score
City, State
McVeytown, PA
Year, Model & Trim Level
'18 XLT
It is an easy install. Just need a drill, a pair of needle nose pliers, a phillips screwdriver and a flat screwdriver. Fronts can be done without removing the wheels (just turn the wheels to lock) but the backs require wheel removal unless you have a 90° drill and screwdriver.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I purchased the slash guards & tried to install them myself. I have installed several items on several cars so I'm not a novice. The fit on my splash guards is horrible! The drivers front looks good but the passenger side has about a 1 inch gap between the guard & my truck. I also couldn't even get the splash guard to connect on the bottom. It almost looked like more an issue with the existing trim on my explorer rather than the splash guard. The bad thing is I already drilled a hole for the driver side guard, so now I'm driving around with 1 splash guard all red-neck style! I got so frustrated I didn't bother with the rear yet.

I installed mine today. Did in my drive way, with just simple hand tools and a 90 degree drill, just so i didnt have to remove the rear wheels.

Fit and finish is perfect, they hug the trim molding perfectly, i have one that has about a 1/16" gap on the drivers rear. Other than that they are perfect.

I installed mine today. Did in my drive way, with just simple hand tools and a 90 degree drill, just so i didnt have to remove the rear wheels.

Fit and finish is perfect, they hug the trim molding perfectly, i have one that has about a 1/16" gap on the drivers rear. Other than that they are perfect.