Multiple Cylinder Misfires 1, 2 and 3 and System too lean on Banks 1 and 2 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Multiple Cylinder Misfires 1, 2 and 3 and System too lean on Banks 1 and 2

mp3803

Reaction score
City, State
Akron, Ohio
Year, Model & Trim Level
1997 Ford Explorer
I am having multiple issues with my 1997 Ford Explorer. Engine = 4.0 SOHC, Vin E. I am by no means a mechanic, but I can do my own work.

When I first start the engine, the RPMs highly fluctuate, a heavy vibration, and the engine rev's on its own. I have been experiencing very low MPG and heavy loss of engine power. The vehicle seems to operate pretty well after the engine warms up. In the cold, on first run, the explorer wants to stall so I have to hit the gas. When the car is in gear during the first runs after cool down, the RPMs will cause the vehicle to "take off" on its own until I sit there holding the brakes for approx 30 seconds.

The check engine light came on so I bought a code reader/scanner (autel.us 309) which provides real time scanning as well. I have reset the light numerous times and still get the same codes P0300, P0301, P0302, P0303, and P0171.

I know the P0300 - P0303 = Multiple cylinder misfires / cylinders 1 - 3
I know the P0171 = System too lean Bank 1

A new code of P0174 (System too lean Bank 2) has came up recently as well.

I have a new Idler pulley and fuel filter in the mail (in which i dont know how to change without the proper filter tools).

I have recently cleaned the MAF and replaced the spark plugs. I don't have the money to constantly "replace parts to find the problem". I have no way to conduct a smoke test. I am in a foreign country that really dont deal with US Spec vehicles (even the ford dealers). I have to order parts from autozone.com. My situation sucks.

Anyone help or have any ideas?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.