1. Holiday Special! - 2 for 1 Elite Explorer sale!

Right now you can purchase an Elite Explorer membership for $20 and receive a two year membership!

Click Here to start your membership and get rid of the ads!

Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Register Today It's free! This box and some ads will disappear once registered!

Must haves before it goes in the crusher

Discussion in 'Stock 1991 - 1994 Explorers' started by motohobo, May 17, 2019.

^^Searches ExplorerForum.com^^

1. motohobo

motohobo New Member

City, State:
    Maryland
    Year, Model & Trim Level:
    1994 Explorer XL
    I've been driving my 94 Explorer for seven years now and it's been the most reliable vehicle I've ever owned so I see no reason to stop driving it...except that it's ancient and things are bound to fail.

There's a 1994 XLT waiting to be crushed at the local junkyard. I have a standard XL with manual windows and 5 speed stick, so I can't use the XLT's power window or transmission stuff.

Is there anything else I should pull of the old hulk before they turn it into a 3 foot cube of scrap? For instance, last week I discovered it's impossible to source the bolt that holds the idler pulley on. I'm looking for tips about any similar little proprietary doohickeys I might need in the future. Recommendations greatly appreciated...

Thanks -- Van

2. Support EF

Elite Explorer 2 for 1 Sale! $20 for 2 years!

Explorer Forum has probably saved you that much already, and will continue to save you money as you learn how to diagnose fix problems yourself and learn which modifications work without having to experiment on your own. Elite Explorer members see practically no ads, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create more private Conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.

3. ~X~

~X~ Elite Explorer

City, State:
    Southern Oregon
    2000 XLT