• Register Today It's free!

New Wheels Questions. HELP ME

chris bailey

Reaction score
City, State
phoenix
Year, Model & Trim Level
2017 Explorer XLT
So I've had cars my whole life, 20's on my last Audi etc, but I'm brand new to the SUV world. Kind of a newb on this subject so I'm looking to get some slightly off-roadish wheels that aren't huge, but wrap them with some larger tires like say 20's or 22's. So the whole tire size vs rim size stuff has got me lost.

So basically looking to do something a little more aggressive like below, so smaller wheel, but larger offroad tire. I need some serious help with sizing and some examples or something because im pretty lost.

f787c88a30ecd5eaec3ac307f074c54d.jpg

Black Rhino Black Combat Wheels | RealTruck

my explorer

UBQA19B.jpg

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Check out tire dealers web sites. Some will have a simulator where you can put in the make and model of your vehicle and then add the tire and wheel combination and take a look at how it is going to look.

If there isn't one on their web site then perhaps a visit to a dealer will get you access to the same computer program.

The top pic has a lot of "poke". I don't think you can get away with that much on the explorer without modifications as the fronts will likely make contact with body/frame/something when turning.

Ideally, you will want to find a shop that will work with you and help fit rims/tires to get what you want, but that can be costly. The cheap way out is to just use an online rim/tire sizer (willtheyfit.com) to determine how far you can manipulate offsets and tire sizes before spending time/money on rims/tires. You can also search online to see what others have gotten away with to try and narrow your size/offset. The basics of rim/tire sizing are the same regardless of car/truck/SUV.