Radiator fan bearing noise 2016 Models | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Radiator fan bearing noise 2016 Models

wilexplorer

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
2016 Explorer XLT
Hello,
So I have a 2016 XLT with about 4k miles now.

I noticed that when I turn the vehicle off, as the fan (driver side) is slowing down you can hear bearing noise. If I manually spin it I can also hear it.

I took it to the dealership, they claimed they replaced the Fan Assembly.

But two or three days later I have the same exact noise. I was able to record a short video of the noise.
Went back to the dealership, and showed it to them. The tech and the adviser heard the noise. They cannot believe that new fan still make the noise. So they said they will contact Ford tech line to find out if this is a common issue.

I was wondering if you had similar issue. I'm new to Explorers so I don't know if this is the same part to previous models, but if it is then more people may chime in.

Thank you

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Hello,
So I have a 2016 XLT with about 4k miles now.

I noticed that when I turn the vehicle off, as the fan (driver side) is slowing down you can hear bearing noise. If I manually spin it I can also hear it.

I took it to the dealership, they claimed they replaced the Fan Assembly.

But two or three days later I have the same exact noise. I was able to record a short video of the noise.
Went back to the dealership, and showed it to them. The tech and the adviser heard the noise. They cannot believe that new fan still make the noise. So they said they will contact Ford tech line to find out if this is a common issue.