• Register Today It's free!

Rear end Growling on first drive

Ormas4X4

Reaction score
City, State
Southfield MI
Year, Model & Trim Level
2003 Explorer
It's been a long cold winter. With the overhaul completed over a week ago, I had to wait on some help with the reinstall. Got it sitting on the frame on Monday, finished and started it this afternoon. It started on the second crank and was smooth and quite in less then 10 seconds. I let it idle for about a half hour and then shut it down to check fluids. I put the code reader on it and only had a code for the ABS, which reset and never came back. We how have about 8 miles of driving time. Buying a vehicle that does not run is risky. All and all, I'm pleased with the performance.

I do have one big issue which will have to be repaired before too long. The rear end is growling. I have very little experience with rear ends, and if I can afford it, I'll let someone else do the work. I did replace the gears in my 7.5" Mustang, with a new limited slip unit. I did not get the backlash adjusted correctly and it had a little whine, so I had it reset. I wonder what I should expect to pay in a shop. Going to Ford is more then I can afford..

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I have no idea what year or model you have, but I'm going to assume you have a limited slip rear-end and you need to change the fluid and add Ford friction modifier.