1. Tip...
    If you hold most smartphones sideways
    you can bring up a more full featured version of the forum.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Register Today It's free! This box will disappear once registered!

Replace Oxygen Sensors for better mileage?

Discussion in 'Stock 1995 - 2001 Explorers' started by torinoscj429, June 23, 2011.

^^Searches ExplorerForum.com^^

1. torinoscj429

torinoscj429 Member

City, State:
    San Diego
    Year, Model & Trim Level:
    2000 Mountaineer V8 2WD
    Hi All!

As my 2000 Mounty 5.0 2WD passes 150,000 miles, I'm wondering if new oxygen sensors would improve my gas mileage. No codes right now, just sensors with a lot of miles.

Has anyone replaced all 4 sensors just because of high miles? If so, did your fuel economy improve?

If I do all 4, I'll want to do it as economically as possible. I'm an old-school ASE certified mechanic, so I can do everything myself. Any suggestions as to a good source for these sensors?

Thanks,

Gerard
    San Diego

http://bob2000.com/mounty.html

2. Support EF

Join the Elite Explorers for $20

Explorer Forum has probably saved you that much already, and will continue to save you money as you learn how to diagnose fix problems yourself and learn which modifications work without having to experiment on your own. Elite Explorer members see practically no ads, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create more private Conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.

3. storlied

storlied Well-Known Member

City, State:
    Anchorage, Alaska
    98 5.0L V8 AWD XLT
    Anywhere for stock application. Local.

4. Liska

Liska New Member

City, State:
    Western massachusetts
    2003 XLT
    Surprisingly, yes, it makes a huge difference in the mileage- provided you are careful and not a lead foot with your driving! I just did mine, and I gained 2-3 mpgs.

5. SoNic67

SoNic67 Well-Known Member

City, State: