Rim & Tire Questions | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Rim & Tire Questions

Hello all,
Newbie here wanting to know about tires & rims.

I have a 2000 XLS Explorer & I found some rims on ebay:

Their specs are:
2 -18x9 (+26mm, 6.11" backspace) front, and
2 - 18x10.5 (+27mm, 6.9 backspace) rear.
They are 5-lug (5 on 4.5).

My questions are, Will the 10.5 rears fit without sticking out
(I don't want to pass the fender guard)? Or should I just go
with 18X9's all around?

Also, if I go with the 18X9's, I don't want low profile tires...
Does anyone know: Good beefy tire size to go with /
Places that I could get them cheap /
Any other options I might have?

I've tried to do some research on the net but know zilch &
have come up with more questions than answers.

Thanks for the help, (Great forum!)

Sergio G.
Miami, FL

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Hello, those front wheels are close to the right size, and limit, to fit under the 2nd gen. Explorers.

Anyway, I have 18x8.5 wheels, with 35mm offset, and 6.35mm spacers(29mm offset).
My front is close inside, and just right on the outside. I'd prefer no more than about 8" wide, and about a 30mm offset.

Your biggest factor though should be weight. Don't buy anything without knowing the exact weight of the wheel, and tire. I went from a 58.5 pound 17" combo to a 71.5 pound 18" combo. It has made a big difference in gas mileage, braking, and acceleration. The ride is a little better, but the handling is a little worse(slower steering, and less responsive).

I went from a 29 inch tire to a 30.5 inch tire. The extra weight and size really changes a lot of things. If I had it to do again, I would keep the weight under 60 pounds. I would try to find a tire 30 inches in diameter. Good luck,
Don W