Second gen explorer as intro to building a 4x4 rig | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Second gen explorer as intro to building a 4x4 rig

Kreth

Reaction score
City, State
Chilliwack, BC
Year, Model & Trim Level
2006 Mitsubishi lancer
Hello everyone! I've been deliberating for a while, and have decided that I want to buy an explorer as a weekend adventure vehicle for me and the family. I want to be able to tow a small trailer, get my partner, 1 year old and me around comfortably, and get up some decently difficult 4x4 routes for hiking and camping.

I'm still a noob with mechanics and 4x4ing, but I would like to start learning on an explorer. from what I've read on the forum, second gen explorers are easier to lift than their predecessor due to having a solid axle. It also helps that I love the look of the second gens.

My questions are:
should I be specific in what I'm looking for in a second gen for this purpose? Any red flags to look out for when buying? Does matter if it's manual or auto? I've found what looks like a promising deal that I would like to check out, how does it look to you guys?

1997 Ford Explorer XL 4WD AUTOMATIC AIR LOCAL ONLY 93,000KM! - Tala Auto Select | Auto dealership in NEW WESTMINSTER, British Columbia | Inventory

Thanks!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Second Gen's do not have a solid front axle. They have the same rear axle, which is solid, a 8.8. The front is independent suspension, in my opinion, far inferior to the first Gen's TTB axle as far as off roading goes.

Thanks for the clarification on the front axle BKennedy.