Solar Panel on the roof of my Mounty | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Solar Panel on the roof of my Mounty

WitchCityMounty

Reaction score
City, State
Salem, MA
Year, Model & Trim Level
'00 Monterey Mountaineer
So I installed a solar panel on the roof of the mounty this week!
Let me first address the reason of why: I'm a college student, my truck often doesn't move for a week or so. In the summer and winter I go to sea for a couple months on end. The battery always dies during this time. If I leave the truck for over two or three weeks the battery also dies. I know I should pull the battery and leave it someplace warm (especially in the winter) but I rarely have the time before shipping out. Basically, my battery often dies when I leave my truck for a long time. I put an amp meter in line with the truck main and the battery and found the truck draws .22 Amps when off. This is going to the PATS and the head unit to a smaller extent. So I decided a solar panel would do the trip to maintain the battery. I know it will not charge a dead battery but it should do a good job of trickle charging the battery and keeping it in great shape.

So here is the panel:
http://www.batteryjunction.com/12vsopabachs.html

Also at bass pro shops

A few notes about getting one... No matter what the websites say it is not waterproof out of the box it needs to be water proofed which I will cover later.
If you google product search you should be able to find one around $20 and change.
I like this unit because it has built in diodes and over charging brain. If you just buy a panel you will need to build or buy these components.

THE INSTALL:
first things first was water proofing. I used a flowing windshield silicon. I like this because it flowed into the cracks. It several applications with the panel leaned in different directions to make it work.
You can see in this pictures I have run a bead of silicon down one edge.
IMGP3350.jpg

All sealed up