sorry im sure this has been covered a million times but... i need 4x4 help | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

sorry im sure this has been covered a million times but... i need 4x4 help

92_sport

Reaction score
City, State
reno, nv
Year, Model & Trim Level
92 sport
As the title says i am sorry, im sure this has been covered a million times but i work to much to read thru all the threads. My 4x4 wont engage, i did have time to read about testing the 4x4 computer, did and it passed. No lights on dash or by buttons when pressed, where should i start? Im new to the whole auto hubs and electronic 4x4 stuff so please spell it out for me like a little kid. I remember something about banging on a shifer motor, were exactly is it? Maybe a relay or fuse? Which ones would they be? This is a 911 type deal because we are getting 6-8 inches of snow per day and the mustang is horrible in the snow. Can i put it in 4x4 manually? If so, how? Any help is GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks,
Steve

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

many many times ;)

heres link to a recent thread, its short so not a lot of reading but still helpful
http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=300762

heres link to shift motor thread, more reading BUT VERY INFORMATIVE!!!
http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=123542&highlight=shift+motor

can be put in 4x4 manually by taking shift motor off and using pliers, vice grips, etc to turn the triangle looking shaft on back of transfer case where shift motor is. [shift motor has to come off to be put in 4x4 manually (manual 4x4 wont help if auto hubs are trashed though)]

heres link to hub info (first post in this thread has MANY links for hub problems, testing, etc.)
http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=232754&highlight=auto+hubs