• Register Today It's free!

Strange A/C problem

HedgeHog2008

Reaction score
City, State
Newnan, GA
Year, Model & Trim Level
2007 Sport Trac
I have a 2007 Ford Explorer Sport Trac. The problem I'm having has been "looked at" by the dealer. When I accelerate (not a jack-rabbit start) the temperature of the air coming out of the vents drops 10-15 degrees. Even on MAX. It is very noticeable. Usually 1 - 2 miles before it starts cooling back down. The dealer looked at it for a whole day (probably 15 minutes) and said they drained the system and reprogrammed the PCM and TCM. However, there is no difference. They said there is nothing more they can do. I was a mechanic many years ago - before all the new electronics. I seem to remember that on the older A/C systems when you were accelerating and the vacuum dropped down, the A/C would freewheel in order to give more power to the engine for acceleration. Anything like that in a 2007. The belt is tight and I hear no slippage. Any suggestions?:(
I have a 2005 Mercury Montego and have never seen this happen to it. I have also searched this website and many others to no avail.
Like this site because it narrows the field I'm interested in.
Thanks All

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I can say that my 08 and the4 03 SCrew I had does/did the same thing when accelerating. It wasn't real noticable after te truck is cool.

Trying to get Ford to respond

I wrote Ford an email. Service Tech said I should take mine back to the dealer again for a "rediagnosis". I took the 2007 Sport Trac back to the dealer this morning. Same diagnosis. However, the Service Writer did tell me this is standard operation for the Sport Trac. I asked her "Why would I spend $30,000 for a A/C unit that works part of the time?" No response as I expected. She just works there, no fault of hers.
:confused: