sudden loss of acceleration | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

sudden loss of acceleration

BillySpen7x

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
1992 Ford Explorer XLT
I've got a well worn 92 ford explorer xlt that has suddenly had a decrease in acceleration. When I ease off the accelerator it will gradually get up to speed, but loses it on inclines. It chokes, doesn't stall, the check engine light comes on for a moment then goes off. The engine temperature has recently began to increase and decrease. Fuel consumption is up. I'm just a simple man with simple capabilities who would rather fix things himself when possible. I'm not a mechanic and don't have specific tools or testers to check all the sensors. Your forum has helped me a great deal so far with numerous other issues, but this one seems to be any number of things causing it. I bought this explorer 5 years ago for $600, just turned either 200k or 300k miles last week, and it has proven to be a dependable vehicle that has outlasted several other newer more expensive vehicles in my family. I'd rather not spend more than its worth to repair, but don't want to give up too soon on what may something simple. Leaning to O2 sensor replacement and possibly MAF sensor.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

No fancy tools required;

You can drive (putt) over to your auto parts store and have them pull the computer data (codes).

Or learn the paper clip method to do it yourself.

http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=255962

Just Google "Ford OBD-I trouble codes" for the list.

I personally have a more comprehensive list with better "real" repair info, but due to licensing I can not post it here; but feel free to post your trouble codes here and I'll have a look.