1. Tip...
    If you hold most smartphones sideways
    you can bring up a more full featured version of the forum.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Register Today It's free! This box will disappear once registered!

Swapping Thermostat...

Discussion in 'Under the Hood' started by nnnick, September 16, 2002.

• Searches ExplorerForum.com
    1. nnnick

nnnick Active Member

City, State:
      Sandusky, Ohio
      Year, Model & Trim Level:
      95 Sport (Expedition)
      I did a search but didnt quite find what im looking for. Im only 17 and kind new to messing with engines, but i figure the only way to learn is to start doing stuff on my own. I ordered a 160 degree thermostat off ebay, and well it didnt come wiht instructions. Hmmm. Can someone help me out keeping in mind im not too good with engines. I have a 95 Sport with the 4.0 v6 in it. I read in a search you should flush out the engine? Exactly what is that and how do i do it? Thanks for all your help. -nick

2. Support EF

Join the Elite Explorers for $20

Explorer Forum has probably saved you that much already, and will continue to save you money as you learn how to diagnose fix problems yourself and learn which modifications work without having to experiment on your own. Elite Explorer members see practically no ads, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create more private Conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.

to hide adverts.
    3. Jason_25

Jason_25 Elite Explorer<br>ECX Member

City, State:
      New Bern, NC
      '95 Explorer "Expedition"
      Whenever I do a cooling system work on my truck I do a few things. I check the hoses, make sure they're not leaking. Then I buy a bottle of the Prestone fuel system flush and run it through there, then I change the thermostat and refill with the right mixture of fluid.