That damn Haynes book. | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

That damn Haynes book.

Reaction score
City, State
Atl. Ga.
Year, Model & Trim Level
96 3L Aerostar
Im trying to pull my A4LD ? to R & R front seal. Haynes says there is a cover to remove, so as to access torque converter to flywheel bolts, NOT ON MINE.... there does seem to be a two part bellhousing, can I pull the tranny back to access these bolts without passing "point of no return" ? This is my first attempt at this....Can competently read technical material, but as we know haynes does not always fit that category, IE firing order etc.....silly, unimportant things like that.

Gregg

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

The cover is on the opposite side of the lower corner of the bellhousing. The cover has 2 bolts. This cover is designed to cover up the opposite starter pocket which isn't actually large enough for a starter. You could remove the starter to access the 4 torque converter bolts. Do you have a 3.0L or a 4.0L engine?

The starter hole is in the front of the flexplate on mine, so I can see the tip of the bolt through the flywheel, not the heads of the bolts where they go through TC. Could I have some different set up other than original? Everything has been pulled loose, and is ready to come out except for this dilemma. I'm hesitant to pull it out because it is not as described in my Haynes book.

There is no separate cover for this access since it is a 4.0L.