• Register Today It's free!

Valve Cover Gasket replacing

iAaronHD

Reaction score
City, State
Memphis, TN
Year, Model & Trim Level
01' Explorer Sport
Recently I started getting a smell of oil coming through the vents of my Ex. I read a post on here suggesting that it was the valve cover gaskets, and I took it to a pro. They told me I needed both replaced and wanted to charge around $300-400. I'm not about to pay them that much. I'm no mechanic and don't know much about cars, but I'm determined to do this. I figure if I can tear down and rebuild computers why not be able to do the same with a car/truck. My question is can someone point me in the direction of some instructions on how to do this? They look like their going to be a real pain in the a$$ to get to.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Recently I started getting a smell of oil coming through the vents of my Ex. I read a post on here suggesting that it was the valve cover gaskets, and I took it to a pro. They told me I needed both replaced and wanted to charge around $300-400. I'm not about to pay them that much. I'm no mechanic and don't know much about cars, but I'm determined to do this. I figure if I can tear down and rebuild computers why not be able to do the same with a car/truck. My question is can someone point me in the direction of some instructions on how to do this? They look like their going to be a real pain in the a$$ to get to.
What engine do you have?

They may not need replacing, just tighten the bolts.

If its for the 01 sport with the 4.0 SOHC, you are better replacing both sides while you are at it because you have to remove the upper intake plenum in order to get the valve covers removed.

Check this out.....

http://explorerforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=268216&highlight=Valve+cover+gasket