• Register Today It's free!

What mods

neric

Reaction score
City, State
Seattle, WA
Year, Model & Trim Level
1991 explorer
I have the 4.0L explorer 91, Eddie Bower, 2 WD, Auto Tran, with 150,000 on it. While it drive well (very smooth), I was wondering, what recommended modification I can do to it in order to get the most Power and torque, and better gas mileage. I also use it to get to Trailheads out here in PNW (avid climber). Usually the road conditions are pretty ruff (giant potholes, and big stones and wet condition) so I need a better power and handling.
On my list is replacing my exhaust system with Gibson straight through, and getting a performance air filter. I am just a very novice regarding what I need to make this ride a powerhouse. As a wishful thinking, what are the components replacement that will give me the best bang for my buck (i.e. the most likely to make a significant difference).
:banghead:

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

2 wheel drive Eddie bauer? I've heard of no such thing.

I'm sure there are plenty of 2wd EB's.

For mods, here goes. Air filter/intake, exhaust (cat-back), custom tuned chip, 2" lift, 31" A/T's, and some good shocks. More power, more capability, and better handling.

i'd say gears over anything. one of the best mods for the money.

If you want more power then what gears can get ya, then a cam with matching pushrods would a great investment.

Gears + Cam = Best Bang for the buck

after that you need the usual. Tint, Rims, system, intake, exhaust, and a 3" body lift and/or 2" suspention lift will do ya well for some 32"s or 33"s. None of this stuff is going to be cheap. expect to pay atleast 500 on the gears/carrier that you want.