X lynx | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

KEEP IN MIND, EVERYTHING THAT FOLLOWS IS FROM MY BUILD ON ANOTHER SITE, SO ITS PRESENT TENSE WHEN I DID IT....BUT, IT SHOWS FULL BUILT MORE OR LESS.

so, i decided to obliterate my truck in an attempt at making something better. so far so good, im happy to say.

this is blackfoot(what i named my truck (no its not corny).
DSCN1680.jpg

DSCN1678.jpg

so ive seen people chop the rear end off their rigs to make a pick-up style rear end. i really liked the idea, and decided to go forward with it on my own. i have no fabrication experience at all, im majoring in welding in an attempt to learn fabrication, but i guess i would learn best by doing it. so, after much contemplation, i decided to do this to my explorer.
i had somewhat of a different idea though, versus what others had done. il explain with pics...

i started obviously by removing the interior...i didnt know where i should relocate the electronics so i left them there...
DSCN1695.jpg

i didnt take a pic of my masking tape markings, but heres what it looks like after i sawzalled it all to hell...keep in mind, the whole time im running this sawzall im having doubts in myself and second thoughts, im thinkin im destroying my car...anybody else get that notion when they fab?
DSCN1696.jpg

only had a 6 inch blade...so i kinda messed this corner up
DSCN1697-1.jpg

heres my bedsides, just sheet metal i picked up...made a crude cut and grinded it down.
DSCN1702.jpg

heres what i got so far.
DSCN1699.jpg