Your opinion on 2014 Sport with 140K miles on it??? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Your opinion on 2014 Sport with 140K miles on it???

SyberTiger

Reaction score
City, State
Orlando
Year, Model & Trim Level
2002 Limited 4x4 4.6L
Having a 3rd gen Ex I have a lot of knowledge and opinion on that particular generation but know nothing of the 2014 Sport and wanted to get opinions. On the 2002 Ex you can always count on front wheel bearings going out too soon, Tranny servo bore leak problem, leaking plastic intake manifold just to name a few things.

Was 2014 a good year for the Explorer or are there some known issues that most folks end up seeing at some point?

What about the 3.5L Ecoboost turbo engine? Good engine? Typical or known problems? How's the tranny on these models? Any issue with the AWD or 4x4 system?

What do you think about a 2014 that has 140K miles on it? What's worn out...timing chains, etc????

Any opinions good and bad are welcome....thanks!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Well I can tell you the known issues are back of intake valves get build up so make sure to run premium gas. Also if you track it make sure you let good cool down time between runs don't keep hot lapping. Also turbo's can go out at that mileage as well. But besides that these are good power for cheap. But at that mileage you may want to be careful those engines are not cheap. Let me know if you have any questions my name is Jake