• Register Today It's free!

Valve Body Rebuild Journal

TN_Explorer

Reaction score
City, State
Manchester, TN
Year, Model & Trim Level
5-1991's; 1-94; 1-2000
Just before Christmas the transmission on my 91 EB started acting really weird - After pulling off the Interstate, it stalled the engine when I stopped. I could restart the engine, but when I stepped on the gas it would stall, as though trying to start in high gear. I posted a call for ideas, and got some good replies. Glacier convinced me to do the unthinkable -- take the valve body apart! Me! I'm not a rocket scientist, just next door joe. Anyway, tonight it's apart.

I followed the Rebuild Diary found on the useful threads, LOTS of e-mails from Glacier, and took about 50 pictures so far, which I will try to post as it begins to make any sense.

Here's what I've found:
- A lot of metallic sludge, but no major chunks; most of this was ABOVE the valve body. The inside of the valve body was exceptionally clean.
- I found a small piece of metal possibly jamming the rod behind the torque converter lock up solenoid (I'm hoping this was the problem)
- There are a LOT of parts in there! I'd like to meet the man who designed it.
- PB Blaster worked well for removing the bores. Brakleen cleaned it nicely but the bores tended to hang up because of no lubricant.

I've done a lot of maintenance on my cars, but until now I would never have considered getting into an automagic transmixer. I will let you know how it all turns out. Wish me luck!!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

If you had gone to a dealer or a trans shop, they'd have told you "rebuild". I bet that thing blocking the rod was the problem. I'll be excited to see your thread. You will help a lot of folks! Good going so far.