Window problem

YountExplr

Reaction score
City, State
Chino Valley, AZ
Year, Model & Trim Level
'97 XL
Hey everybody,

My friend's girlfriend has an '03 and she says that her windows are not rolling up unless the door is open. Does anybody know what might be wrong? I looked around at some threads and my thinking is it might be the regulator, but since I have no experience with 3rd gens, I'd appreciate some help with this one.

Ill also try to get some more information.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

so this is affecting all 4 windows, so im thinking the black ground wire after some more reading. IF you have any other thoughts, let me know

I'm not sure about the door open vs. closed thing, but I can tell you I just spent the last six hours with my door torn apart because all my windows stopped working a few weeks ago. Several threads discuss the exact issue I suffered - a severed light blue/black striped power wire going to the master switch in the driver's door. Before all my windows stopped working, they worked sporadically. If I had $5 to bet, I'd say the power wire, which is prone to stretching/severing due to Ford's need to save 2 inches of wire on every Explorer, is about to break. It may be that it's making a connection when the door is open and stretching enough to lose its connection as the door closes.

If all windows stop working altogether, this is the first thing I'd check. However, just in case, and as a potential time savings, crawl under the steering wheel and look at the fuse panel. There should be a fuse puller hanging by the fuse puller. Pull fuse 17. If it's bad, replace it - your problem should be solved. If it's good, proceed.