How to install an electric fan PICS | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

How to install an electric fan PICS

Hitchhikingmike

Explorer Addict
Reaction score
City, State
Dallas, Texas
Year, Model & Trim Level
'02 XLS
How to install a Ford Taurus two speed electric fan in place of the clutch fan in your 3rd generation Explorer.

Note: I am not an electric engineer. All risks of electric fires, over heating engines and being stranded away from home are taken at your own risk, even if you follow my every instruction to the dot.:cool: However, I have not had any problems at all with my electric fan in the heat of the Dallas area for the past 500 miles.

There are many benefits in having an electric fan in place of the factory clutch fan behind the radiator. The most prevalent reasons are increased fuel efficiency, cooler air conditioning and freed up horse power. The factory clutch fan is quite heavy and is constantly spinning by the water pump shaft, even when you are cruising on the highway. This creates parasitic drag on the engine at all times, but most noticeable during acceleration. With an electric fan, the fan will only turn on when necessary, therefore the fan will most likely turn off when cruising on the highway resulting in a bit more fuel efficiency. Unlike a clutch fan that spins much slower at idle, an electric fan can run at maximum duty at idle to pull more air through the radiators, resulting in a cooler engine and much cooler air conditioner during the stop and go traffic in the summer months. And lastly, since the fan spins at constant speed, independently from the engine speed, your engine will be able to rev more freely, free up horse power, and help make stop and go driving a bit more fuel efficient. And since the fan only turns on once the engine gets hot, the engine can warm up much faster in the mornings after those cold starts.

Tools required:
-fan clutch removal tool