uh oh...the dreaded sub box question | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

uh oh...the dreaded sub box question

trackerjoe

Reaction score
City, State
origin-Manchester,TN current-Parris Island,SC
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 Volvo s80 i6
disregard first question

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

ok, im taking the plunge on making a behind the seat fiberglass enclosure. id like some input on materials. please keep in mind that this is my first attempt at a sub box in general, both solid wood or fiberglass. id like to keep away from the expensive stuff until im comfortable with my work.

1.any suggestions on cloth? ive seen some people use speaker cloth and fleece, others just speaker cloth, fleece and fiberglass, etc. is any one of these better than the other?

2.ill most likely be using the walmart bondo resin. will i be ok with this?

3.ill be building the skeleton then adding the glass on to it. do i need to make the cuts smaller to compensate for the thickness of the fiberglass?

thanks

Yeah, I just did a quick search. The guys in my custum truck club get most of their supplies from Home Depot and sometimes Walmart.

another question...what ounce cloth do i need? im seeing from 3oz-20oz.

http://72.35.72.219/~library/28161/sub%20box/box1.jpg

http://72.35.72.219/~library/28161/sub%20box/box2.jpg

well, dove in head first. got the structure just about done. i got the resin(came with free hardener) from walmart for $12 and some of my fiberglass. i cant remember the oz, but its the kind you can tear with your hands. i got some stronger stuff coming in the mail for added support. will post more pics when done.