'00 Sport dies on startup, idles at 200 rpm...MAF problem? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

'00 Sport dies on startup, idles at 200 rpm...MAF problem?

MizzouSport

Reaction score
City, State
Missouri
Year, Model & Trim Level
'00 Sport
Recently my '00 Sport has been dying on startup. If I gas it when I start, it'll get going, but as soon as I let off it'll idle at ~200 rpms or just die again. This doesn't happen every time, but has been happening more frequently. The check engine light is NOT on, and I've tried different carb cleaners, fuel injector cleaners, water removers, and octane levels when I gas it up. From what I've read it sounds like the Mass Air Flow sensor may need cleaning, but I'm no expert. Anybody have any other ideas, or advice for cleaning the MAF?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Try cleaning it just because it never hurts