• Register Today It's free!

05 Explorer XLT Rear brake pads

Dradien

Reaction score
City, State
Mount Carmel, PA
Year, Model & Trim Level
'05 XLT
So I am about to replace the rear pads on my 05 Explorer XLT. Failed inspection because the rear pads were to worn.

Now, I have never done brakes, but I have some experience. I don't want to have to pay labor on this, and I also wanna learn some, and doing **** yourself gives a sense of satisfaction.

How easy are the rear pads? Any special tools needed for it? Anything I should look out for?

Also, does anyone wanna give me a quick rundown before I do it? Thanks!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

10mm socket to remove the 2 bolts that hold the calipers.

A screwdriver to pry off the outer pad

A c-clamp or something similar to compress the caliper piston in.

Snap the new pads in place

Put the caliper back on, bolts back and you are done.

Too easy, if you can't do this, sell the few tools you may have now and pay for your repairs :D

You should always get your Rotors Turned when you are replacing brake pads as well, because the ridges in the rotors arent going to align with the new brake pads, and you will get horrible noises and supposedely lead to premature brake pad failure or damage to rotors.......thats what they SAY atleast.

It should only cost around $20-60 to get 2 rotors turned.....depends on where you live.

I went to a Goodyear shop, they wanted almost $100 PER ROTOR!!!
I told them to #### off.

I went down the street to some privately owned shop, they only want around $30 to turn 2 rotors......good enough for me.

you are better off puttin 2 new rotors on. 20-25 a piece. dont forget to clean the caliper slides and relubricate them with grease.