08 Explorer V6 Towing Question | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

08 Explorer V6 Towing Question

spencer785

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
08 EB 4x4 V6
Just wondering i have an 08 explorer v6 with tow package just wondering is it alright to tow and 23-25ft grady white boat with it. Because were thinking about buying a boat and just want to make sure its safe. Thanks

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

You might get more responses in the towing forum.

Odds are, probably not. How heavy is the boat?

My Mounty V6 without a towing package only tows about 3300 lbs, IIRC. I don't know how much the towing package adds, but I'm sure the boat will be heavier. A 23 foot boat is F150 territory, unless you're only moving it a mile or so.

I have a lot of experience towing things with my 2006 explorer V6. It tows perfectly. I tow a 21 bayliner and a 21 ft mako center console including a 10 ft jon boat which really isnt heavy. I have 4 200 pound people in the cab scuba tanks and fishing roads in the trunk and towing the boat the thing doesnt even flinch at the ramp. Tows perfectly. Cant even feel it. I of course have the standard tow package that comes on the truck and its great. I dont think you will have a problem. but check the tow ratings for your truck and gear ratio.

the boats dry weight is 3385 lbs plus whatever a 250 hp outboard weighs plus fuel i would imagine probably close to 5000lbs all loaded.

read your owners manual, it tells you exact weight it can tow with that motor/tow package- if your under that, LET ER' EAT!