• Register Today It's free!

1991 explorer build questions

Bobo804

Reaction score
City, State
Ashland Va
Year, Model & Trim Level
1991 ford explorer
I am new to the explorer builds and just got my hands on a 91 explorer eddie bauer edition and want to build it. I am debating on doing a axle swap in the front any suggestions? also any other things yall would suggest with that would be much appreciated.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Solid axle swap or just switching to a different ttb set up? and roll overs in the explorers are very high so if you want a lift i would suggest looking into good suspension parts.

Unless you're looking to run really big tires (37s or bigger) or want a wider track width, I don't see much need to mess around with swapping axles, the stock stuff is generally fine to 35" tires with a few small mods such as swapping to the Warn Jeep hubs and a set of Spicer 5-760X u-joints.

Skyjacker has some nice suspension kits, but you have to look for them under Rangers for your year (4" & 6" kits). You'll need to get a kit either with rear springs and then add a set of extended shackles to get the full rear lift (ranger springs are ~2" less lift), or if you get the 6" lift, you can do a SOA conversion (spring-over-axle) using your stock springs (also gives about 6").

James Duff has some nice suspension kits as well, however I'm not real big on their rod-end radius arms (I prefer bushings). This is mostly a personal preference though (both have their advantages & disadvantages).

Welcome to the forum. :chug:

i appreciate the help guys and thanks for all the info!!