1992 "Jurassic Park" Explorer XLT Tour SUV | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

1992 "Jurassic Park" Explorer XLT Tour SUV

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I'm currently doing this same conversion. I looked into an electric conversion too, using forklift parts. I am a forklift mechanic and have access to parts and knowledge, but the engineering behind it was going to be too much for me to want to tackle right now. There are universal conversion kits available, but at about $10,000, it just was not worth it. Besides I would only have about 3 hours run time at about 40 MPH tops. So for now the gas mill will just have to stay.

As far as the guards, The front is not made anymore and good luck finding one, and I can't remember the name of it anyway (go rhino?). I found the rears, on-line but have not ordered them yet. You can still get them for second gens, but all I could find was a part number for the first gens(I lost that too:mad:). I will be scratch building mine most likely. I'm still gathering info for the clear roof. I have some contacts in the acrylics industry, but I just need to find someone to form it.

The lights I think are just 4 inch round tractor lights(mine will be excess forklift lights!), the one on the cowl looks like a 6 inch KC daylighter. You can get cheapo ones from harbor freight since they will be painted anyway.