1993 Ford Explorer 4x4 auto Eddie Bauer | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

1993 Ford Explorer 4x4 auto Eddie Bauer

ianwhitcombe

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
1993 ford explorer
Interesting problem.I'm in Australia, the car is in Samoa (Pacific Islands).I'm a diesel mechanic, 40 years experience.The engine developed a problem of water in the engine oil.When my son went to Samoa he found the engine seized.He removed the spark plugs and snapped the front crank pulley bolt whilst attempting to turn the engine, so it's stuck fast.I want to remove the engine, but cannot access the flexi disc bolts on the convertor so that I can split the engine away from the trans. I don't know if the seizure is in the pistons in the bores or is in the bearing journels on the crank.The engine is a 4.0L V6 pushrod model.It is married to an A4LD trans.I was thinking of shipping a used V6 pushrod engine from Australia, but Explorers were only imported into Australia 1996 on ie series 2, which are married to 4R55E transmissions. My question is. Will a A4LD trans marry straight up to a V6 pushrod engine that previously had a 4R55E attached to it,or is it necessary to change the engine bellhousing? If not able to be married, are the 2 different bellhousings able to be swapped, without any other alterations so I would have a (new) used engine, fitted with my old bellhousing and trans. Are the end crank face & flexiplate bolt patterns the same on the (new) and old engines. I will be bolting my original flexiplate to the (new) engine.Lastly, I'm still faced with removing the engine/trans from the vehicle.My service manual broadly states the engine sump is removed when the engine is out of the car.I don't really want to take the front diff & suspension out to achieve this. I need to know if the 2 rear torx sump bolts adjacent to the rear crank oil seal,are able to be removed while the engine bellhousing is still bolted up. If they are then I will