• Register Today It's free!

1997 Explorer owner here!

Lizziehen

Reaction score
City, State
UK
Year, Model & Trim Level
Ford Explorer 1997
Evening all, newbie here, I'm the proud owner of a 1997 Explorer, which I bought locally nearly six years ago. I absolutely love it, but of course my main problem now is finding spare parts. Current problem is the power steering oil cooler which is losing fluid, fast, it's a replacement which was fitted about three years ago. I was lucky to find it then from a scrapyard, but having no luck now! Any advice?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Evening all, newbie here, I'm the proud owner of a 1997 Explorer, which I bought locally nearly six years ago. I absolutely love it, but of course my main problem now is finding spare parts. Current problem is the power steering oil cooler which is losing fluid, fast, it's a replacement which was fitted about three years ago. I was lucky to find it then from a scrapyard, but having no luck now! Any advice?
Have you tried Rockauto.com. failing that try Find Cheap Car Parts Online | Lowest Prices Save 80% | 247Spares or Find a Part

Many thanks for your reply. I managed to find the power steering oil cooler on Rockauto, which is great, I'd asked three different sites in the USA with no luck. In the meantime my mechanic pal came over today and removed the oil cooler, replaced it with a length of pipe, which will do to go on with. He says it should be all right during the winter months at any rate. He's also suggested taking the offending part to the car radiator repairers in Ludlow to see if it's mendable. So that's my first port of call, and in the meantime my beloved Explorer is back on the road, hooray!