• Register Today It's free!

1998 Explorer

Braaap Master D

Reaction score
City, State
Barrie, Ontario
Year, Model & Trim Level
1998 Eddie Bauer
I am new to being a Ford Explorer owner. I just picked up a 1998 4.0L Explorer Eddie Bauer Eddition.... Everything seems to be in great working order and the body is mint... Can any one tell me if there are any potential problems I should be looking for on this specific year.

Cheers

D

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Good choice of vehicle! I to have a 98' EB and yes there are certain things that will happen.
Since you have a 4.0 you will most likely have tranmission problems down the road (it happens to almost every one of them) thats why I bought a v8 with the better tranny.
You will lose the display on the radio (unless its already been fixed)
over all i think you made a great choice enjoy! I have 182,000 on mine and have loved almost every minute of it!

Since you got it used, I would definitely get the transmission filter replaced and THEN flush it. Ounce of prevention, pound of cure, and all that.
I would also change the lube in the transfer case (it's not hard, takes regular Mercon ATF) and the axles. The Valvoline Qwicky-Lube near me will do the axles for $34.95 each, at that price it isn't even worth my time to do it myself. Change the oil if it looks dirty and you don't know when it was last done, same with the coolant.