2000 Ford Expedition Eddie Bauer Mach audio subwoofer amplifier | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

2000 Ford Expedition Eddie Bauer Mach audio subwoofer amplifier

Amp_man46

Reaction score
City, State
New Port Richey, Florida
Year, Model & Trim Level
2000 Ford Expedition Eddi
I'm wondering if any one has taken apart the factory sub amp and see if there were any potentiometer
on the board for gain settings. I have previously owned a car audio installation shop and currently on the side
I repair car amplifiers. I am an electronics engineer from way back and 12 years ago designed 2 mono car amps.
Anyway if anyone has taken one apart and checked this out please let me know before I do. Thanks

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Gen4 Explorer factory amp

No any settings or tuning options

Just a box with pcb and in/out connector sockets.ive replaced em with JBL amplifier (left factory subwoofer connected)

Gen4 Explorer factory amp

No any settings or tuning options

Just a box with pcb and in/out connector sockets.ive replaced em with JBL amplifier (left factory subwoofer connected)
I'm curious to get more power out of the sub amp and as a designer I'm gonna see what I can do to add some more mosfets or BJ transistors to the factory am some time soon. I've designed car amplifiers and got to see what the switching power supply puts out, rail voltages and some other thing but I can do it pretty simply by just adding extra output transistors. We'll see

If the amp even has a boost SMPS stage, that voltage and current limit is probably going to need improved before swapping transistors matters, and then with the transistor swap, you may find the heatsink limiting, and have to add another power rail to keep the rest happy at a lower voltage than your output transistors.