2002 4.0l what trailer weight can a SAFELY Tow | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

2002 4.0l what trailer weight can a SAFELY Tow

I looked up in the owners manual what the specs are for my explorer and they seem to be lofty to me.

2002 Explorer, 4 door, 4X4, 3.73 gears (D4), Automatic Transmission, Factory towing package with 2" receiver hitch, factory trailer brake hook up.

Here is what the owners manual told me

Maximum GCWR 10,000lbs

Trailer weight range 0-5380lbs

I have both the trailer brake(not hooked up yet) and a weight distribution hitch and just curious what I weight I could tow and it not be too much for the explorer in REAL WORLD Conditions.

I know the the weight of the people and cargo in the truck and also the added weight in the camper would have to be figured in to get an accurate weight.

But I am just looking for a round about figure so when I go to buy a camper I don't go over board.

As an engineer, I tend to fall into the company that feels we engineers already build in enough safety factors. I do not subscribe to reducing your capacity below the ratings stated, for that reason.

It sounds like you know what you are doing, having the HD package, brake controller, and even working with a WDH setup. You should simply make sure that you do not exceed any of the ratings you listed, and set up that WDH kit properly.

The exception would be if you intend to frequently take the rig thru any serious hills. In that case, I think there are some recommendations for reducing GCVWR by certain percentage for every 1000 feet above sea level (?).

https://www.fleet.ford.com/showroom/rv_trailer_towing/2003/2003_default.asp
Check this link, change to 2002 model year, and download. A little more detailed info from Ford than the owner's manual.
Enjoy.

If I am towing a camper there will be hills. I will be in the Missouri Ozark region not huge Mountains or anything but there are some hills.