2005 Explorer won't start- help! Urgent! | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

2005 Explorer won't start- help! Urgent!

Jeff13

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
2005 explorer xlt 4x2
I have been searching for answers but decided I have to post. I am not a mechanic but have always done all my own work. I have a 2005 explorer xlt v6 4x2 that cranks but won't start. At first it cranked sputtered and died, now it just cranks and then nothing. It was running great until I started to try to figure out why my ac clutch isn't spinning. Now I don't care abt the ac I just want to drive my car.

I recently changed the ac compressor and accumulator but noticed that the air got warm when stopped. This led me to discover that the clutch wasn't engaging at idle. So I started messing around. I went to jumper the ac clutch relay but jumpered the starter relay on mistake first. Then I jumpered the clutch relay and it started spinning, checked ac pressure which was fine, Unjumpered relay, it stopped. I then thought I'd check the low pressure switch, unplugged it unscrewed it, cleaned it. When unscrewed it sounded like some pressure released. Unplugged compressor, plugged back in.

So that's all I did and now it won't start. I'm thinking something I did stopped fuel flow to the engine. I switched the relays around. I am going to try starting spray and see what happens but is there a fuel pump switch I could have triggered or something? I'm at a loss, broke and supposed to be taking the family on vacation in 7 days.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!