2006 Mecury Mountaineer ignition coil question. | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

2006 Mecury Mountaineer ignition coil question.

jcallanan

Reaction score
City, State
ME
Year, Model & Trim Level
2006 Mountaineer
I recently had a problem with my 7th cylinder misfiring in my V8 4.6L. I figured it was an ignition coil and in dire need for a working car for a trip the next day. I went to my local advance auto parts and used there scanner and bought a BWD Ignition Coil for the Mountaineer. When I got home I was surprised how easy it was to replace a coil on this car as I am no mechanic Now here's my question or issue. The replacement coils rubber boot just doesn't fit in the hole where the spark plug is all that good. It pops on and I know it is making a good connection to the plug but the gasket/seal part of the boot doesn't seem to sit as tight as the motorcraft coil did before. It's loose around the edges of the top of the hole. I would have bought the motorcraft part, but naturally it was 7pm and no auto parts place had a motorcraft coil and all ford dealerships were closed. Do you guys think this will be an issue going forward with moisture/water or do you think i'll be fine? I'm ready to order a Motorcraft coil if need be but again I don't know much about car mechanics and need some insight.

Thanks

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Appartently water/moisture can cause big problems for these coils, so I would suggest applying lots of dielectric silicone grease to keep moisture out.

You can take the boot off of the old coil and use it on your new coil. This way you get the awesomeness of the new coil with the fit of the Motorcraft coil boot.