2015 Explorer sport water pump replacement | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

2015 Explorer sport water pump replacement

BoMan

Reaction score
City, State
North Las Vegas, Nv
Year, Model & Trim Level
2015 Ford Explorer Sport
Hello members! I'm a novice forum user and even less inclined mechanically. I have used the for prior for info and all the info is appreciated and useful but never posted before. I have an issue that I've read post about but could not find my specific issue. I would really appreciate any help that the forum could provide. I drive a 2015 Explorer sport that at the time of issue had 57,000 miles. Developed a small coolant leak and took car to dealer for repair and told it was the water pump. Although not told at the time, I discovered this was a problem for many others. After being told they would have to call in a major engine tech, I became curious and discovered the litigation against Ford ref this issue and how prevalent it was. Did further research and found out why it required a major engine tech. It's a very involved repair. Watched a few videos and immediately contacted my service writer and advised about my concern of my vehicle being the same when returned. Was assured this would not be an issue. Due to numerous vehicles in front of me, my vehicle returned after a month. Needless to say, my vehicle is not the same. My car now uses a ton of gas, self check through my vehicle options shows 14 miles a gallon. furthermore vehicle is considerably slower. When i get on the accelerator I can hear the engine straining and working much harder also while going up an incline, even on the freeway. It now seems like a normally aspirated engine. I'm recently retired police and drove the interceptors and it feels like that. When getting on the gas the car jerks back before accelerating and as stated it is sooo much slower. Not smooth speed pickup as before. Took back to dealer and service writer drove around th