• Register Today It's free!

2017 Explorer Platinum - Sluggish

Jon H

Reaction score
City, State
Wilbraham, MA
Year, Model & Trim Level
2017 Explorer Platinum
Hello Explorer forum, I have some great articles here that sound somewhat related to my issue. I am new to Ford, so I don't have any previous experience with any of their EcoBoost motors.

I have a 2017 Explorer Platinum with about 2k miles on it. At about 1500 it kind of just lost it's "kick" - that's the best way I can describe it. No codes, no service engine light. The issue isn't as drastic as other posts about losing power completely on the highway. It is noticeable usually at lower rpms where the engine will feel like it surges slightly but it never really has that kick like it used to - and definitely doesn't have that smooth consistent "push you back in your seat" feel.

I considered "turbo lag", but I have read that these motors have pretty consistent turbo torque through much of the rpm range.

A friend of mine has a 2014 Sport and said that under heavy throttle, he had lost power. When he brought it to the dealership, they found that a loose hose had come loose and there were no service lights on. I thought the same thing had happened to me, so I brought it to the dealer.

They looked over the truck and said everything checked out. They couldn't find anything. I asked them to keep it again and check it in the AM and also to have someone that knows these trucks compare it to how others perform. I really feel like the truck is underperforming.

My question is - does anyone have any recommendations on things to have the dealership check? I am at a loss and it is frustrating with a car this expensive that has 2k miles on it. I would think that they are the experts, but I feel like they checked the hoses (because I brought it up) and hooked it up to a computer, but couldn't find anything.