• Register Today It's free! This box and some ads will disappear once registered!

^^Searches ExplorerForum.com^^

32" HDTV as monitor, need graphics card to support it


Kazer

Well-Known Member
Joined
March 13, 2010
Messages
1,688
Reaction score
1
City, State
Sneads Ferry, NC
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 Excursion PSD
Hey guys. I used to be tech savy a couple years ago(comptia A+ & Network+ certified) but lost my desire after highschool.

anywho, I have a spare 32" 780p tv I'd like to use as a monitor at work. I tried hooking it up with an hdmi cable, but the resolution was terrible. I just have an on board/integrated ati graphics card. My question is, what are some good reccommendations for a graphics card that would support a screen of that size?
 
Last edited:


Join the Elite Explorers for $20 per year. Gets rid of the ads! New $5 per month "try out" option.

Explorer Forum has probably saved you that much already, and will continue to save you money as you learn how to diagnose fix problems yourself and learn which modifications work without having to experiment on your own. Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create and save more private Conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.




colintrax

Elite Explorer
Joined
July 16, 2009
Messages
2,748
Reaction score
38
City, State
Georgia
Year, Model & Trim Level
97 XLT
So graphic cards control that? Huh, shows what I know :D
 




Kazer

Well-Known Member
Joined
March 13, 2010
Messages
1,688
Reaction score
1
City, State
Sneads Ferry, NC
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 Excursion PSD
Lol. I'll post up the integrated graphics card's specs when I get to work tomorrow
 




Kazer

Well-Known Member
Joined
March 13, 2010
Messages
1,688
Reaction score
1
City, State
Sneads Ferry, NC
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 Excursion PSD
Okay, here are some specs:

Dell Inspiron 570
AMD Athlon II X2 240 @ 2.8ghz
3gb Ram (upping to 4gb soon)
64 Bit Windows 7 Professional
ATI Radeon HD 4200

TV's max resolution is 1366 x 768. its an OLEVIA 32" 720p LCD HDTV 232V
 




bats

Elite Explorer
Joined
October 30, 2009
Messages
819
Reaction score
27
City, State
NY
Year, Model & Trim Level
88 Bronco II
Onboard ATI. Yuck. They haven't been the same since AMD bought them. I'd recommend picking up an NVIDIA graphics card with HDMI out. You can get a good one for under 100$ on Newegg. I setup an old P4 box with 2 GB ram in my conference room running a 50$ graphics card. It drives a 72 inch TV which at 1080p with no problem.

You're probably OK on RAM but if you're upgrading why go for 8 GB since you're on 64 bit?
 




Kazer

Well-Known Member
Joined
March 13, 2010
Messages
1,688
Reaction score
1
City, State
Sneads Ferry, NC
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 Excursion PSD
Thanks Bats. i mostly work in QuickBooks, with some dabbling in Acrobat 10 and InDesign, so i probably don't need more than 3gb of ram i guess. what make and model is that $50 card?
 




Burns

Elite Explorer
Moderator Emeritus
Joined
October 20, 2004
Messages
9,032
Reaction score
16
City, State
Pulaski, TN
Year, Model & Trim Level
1991 Explorer/2002 F-250
Hey Bats,

Does the card you use also send the audio through HDMI?


Hey Kazer,

I would upgrade the memory also. 8 gig is cheap and it would be worth it in the long run.
 




Kazer

Well-Known Member
Joined
March 13, 2010
Messages
1,688
Reaction score
1
City, State
Sneads Ferry, NC
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 Excursion PSD
Last edited:




bats

Elite Explorer
Joined
October 30, 2009
Messages
819
Reaction score
27
City, State
NY
Year, Model & Trim Level
88 Bronco II
Burns, I only send video through the HDMI and use the regular speaker jack hooked up to some logitech 2.1 speakers.

Kazer, so sorry you have to deal with Quickbooks. I've been waiting for a solution to Event ID 4 since 2009. Can't wait until January when my company migrates to Microsoft Dynamics.

The GPU looks good and so does the RAM provided it's compatible with your system. You should be able to look up the Dell Service Tag and verify the mobo specs.
 




Sedition

Engine Repair Guy
Elite Explorer
Joined
January 12, 2012
Messages
677
Reaction score
0
City, State
Geelong, Australia
Year, Model & Trim Level
98 Explorer XLT SOHC
You can get a HD6670 for under a hundred bucks these days
 




Thread starter Similar threads Forum Replies Date
4pointslow Computer Monitor Exploring Computers!! 8
G Monitor choice: Duals or one big one? Exploring Computers!! 19
G Is this a good monitor? Exploring Computers!! 9
ld50 Windows vista monitor is opaque one side Exploring Computers!! 2
Rick Dual monitor problem Exploring Computers!! 12
section525 Using an LCD TV as a monitor - tech Exploring Computers!! 15
Flounder Internal Temperature Monitor Software Exploring Computers!! 3
O Partial Screen Displayed on Monitor Exploring Computers!! 2
E Dell's New 30" Widescreen Computer Monitor Exploring Computers!! 27
T I gots me a new monitor @ work Exploring Computers!! 5
E Dual Monitor Issues Exploring Computers!! 9
E pda to external 5"lcd monitor Exploring Computers!! 1
O New Monitor! Exploring Computers!! 10
D Finally got an LCD monitor! Exploring Computers!! 3
R I need help with video setting to watch tv and monitor seperately Exploring Computers!! 2
N monitor showing nothing.... Exploring Computers!! 6
R TV as Monitor or Monitor as TV? Exploring Computers!! 8
H screwed into buying a laptop with a dead hitachi monitor. Wholesale prices where? Exploring Computers!! 17
X Adding Monitor to Laptop Exploring Computers!! 3
R monitor question Exploring Computers!! 14
C dying monitor Exploring Computers!! 9
section525 Computer Gurus! Dual Monitor ?'s Exploring Computers!! 10
RFR2212 monitor sheilding Exploring Computers!! 5
section525 Monitor went out Exploring Computers!! 3
01EB5.0 Microwave and monitor......will either one get messed up? Exploring Computers!! 4
T program to monitor bandwidth? Exploring Computers!! 3
R Need a printer looking for feedback. Exploring Computers!! 7
RangerX I need help with a camera to mac to online problem Exploring Computers!! 18
gmanpaint Need help with choosing a laptop. Exploring Computers!! 34
Stic-o Need all EF Computer Gurus Help!! Exploring Computers!! 16
M need computer help. Exploring Computers!! 6
Turdle Need a PC Exploring Computers!! 23
Maniak I need a Google Voice invite Exploring Computers!! 40
J Need help with Wireless Adapter Exploring Computers!! 22
P need an M$ access guru... Exploring Computers!! 0
XLT I need some help with my lap top...Please Exploring Computers!! 20
R I need help finding a chipset fan Exploring Computers!! 2
9 Need Help installing a Linux/GNU OS Exploring Computers!! 4
Ray Lobato Need some help with hard drives Exploring Computers!! 10
section525 I need a new external hard drive... Exploring Computers!! 25
G Quicken Users: need quick simple help Exploring Computers!! 2
A need help with form Exploring Computers!! 1
Turdle Once again I need some help--virus? Exploring Computers!! 44
T Somethings On My Computer And I Need It Off!!!!! Please Help Exploring Computers!! 5
Turdle I need computer guru help again please! Exploring Computers!! 28
E need help with a database Exploring Computers!! 24
E Need help setting up my site Exploring Computers!! 10
Brandons Need help from you SB LIVE users with front panel audio Exploring Computers!! 2
E Need Help On New Computer... Exploring Computers!! 25
jasonb Need a computer for mom Exploring Computers!! 16
Similar threads


















































Top