• Register Today It's free!

347 stroker kit...

2kLimitedv8

Reaction score
City, State
Lawrenceburg, IN
Year, Model & Trim Level
2000 Explorer Limited 5.0
I have a 2000 5.0L, and I really would love to install a 347 stroker kit, instead of a supercharger. For one, superchargers are more expensive and add less hp, and two, the whine of a supercharger is very noticable so the sleeper idea goes out the window.

I have a few questions:

1.) Exactly what kind of power can I expect out of a 347 kit? My motor is stock, except for KKM w/K&N X-Stream intake, and I have a 3" Flowmaster exhaust. Would a 347 put out closer to 350hp or closer to 400+hp? :eek:

2.) What about reliability? Is a motor with a 347 kit any more or less reliable than a stock 302?

3.) What are some good sites on the internet that sell 347 kits for good prices, and how much should I expect to pay.

4.) Are there any other necessary addons with a 347? (i.e. do I need bigger injectors, MAF, or TB?)

Thanks to anyone who can help

-Nathan

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Nathan, a good place to start is by picking up a copy of Muscle Mustangs & Fast Fords. There are several adds for stroker engines. I'm sure you can buy just the crank, rods, and pistons. Horse power is going to depend on cam, intake, injectors, MAS, throtle body, haeders/exhaust ect. I think you will have to modify a 5.0 mustang throtle body as no one I know makes one for an Explorer. I beleive there is a thread on how to do this. I hope this helps.

think about this-

stroking 302's causes oiling problems. the piston goes such a greater distance that it goes into areas that the oil cannot reach properly. this dramatically shortens life of engine components. i have yet to see a solution for this problem too.

eric

I've been looking into this myself...