• Register Today It's free!

4" lift questions

bmxr152

Reaction score
City, State
Bakersfield, ca
Year, Model & Trim Level
91 xlt
Hey everyone im new to explorer forum, but not new to forum stuff. Anyways i had a question i just picked up a 91 xlt and it has a rough country 4" lift, but wanted a little more. my question is if i put f150 coils up front with the 4" lift will i need to get longer drop down brackets or anything? Not to knowledgeable about lifted stuff. Anyways i was also going to do the SOA in back.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

thanks for the link, i was searching, but couldn't really find anything. im guessing i will need 2" or so more shock, but just wondering about everything else, steering, driveshaft, ect...i guess the real question is will the 4" rough country kit work at 6" of lift with no problems? I know Four0Sports has the RC kit but its the 4" kit at 4" i want to take the 4" kit and make it 5.5 with the f150 coils if that makes any sense. Anyways thanks for the help.

might as well just sas:D

I was able to get the camber/alignment right with a 2" lift with no drop brackets.... So, I would think that you could user camber busings to align your 4" lift brackets with 5.5 - 6" of lift. I don't know for sure though.

Yeah if i had had the money believe me i would. Thats what i have planned for down the road. I just want to get a little more flex out of it. I took the sway bars off already and that was a nice difference.

I was able to get the camber/alignment right with a 2" lift with no drop brackets.... So, I would think that you could user camber busings to align your 4" lift brackets with 5.5 - 6" of lift. I don't know for sure though.

Oh ok. What about the steering linkage and stuff like that, you think the 4" kit should be good to 6"?