5.0 AWD Drivetrain Conversion in Ranger | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

5.0 AWD Drivetrain Conversion in Ranger

oddball101

Reaction score
City, State
Columbia SC
Year, Model & Trim Level
01 Ranger Edge 5.0
I am new to Explorers and I just (fool-heartedly) bought a '00 AWD 5.0 Mountaineer under the impression that it was 2wd for my swap.. So needless to say my entire drivetrain plan is shot and I am starting over from scratch. I wanted 2wd to keep it simple at first since that is how my '01 2wd 3.0 xcab Edge Ranger is set up. hten I was goin got work into adapting 4wd with the 4406 like some other have done. Well now Since I have all of this AWD / 4wd stuff stairing me in the face, I am looking for options but have been gettting mixed info as to what will work and what will not.

So here's my Goal:
I want to adapt the front AWD differential from the mountaineer to my ranger with manual locking hubs, while using the 4406 transfer case. I realize I'd be making driveshaft changes in lengths and that I'd have to weld on the third support in front for 4wd to my ranger, as well as get the sport gas tank.

And here are my Questions:

1. The driveshafts going from the 4406 to the AWD diff components won't match up in connectivity type will they?

2. I have seen adapters that can be purchased, but are there any stock manual locking hubs that can be used or swapped in with the AWD front diff for the Rangers or Explorers that will fit my application in my ranger?

A lot of stuff I have found and read refers to 2nd gen explorers but all of this is in reference to a swap into an 01 ranger with the torsion bar front end. So that being said, I do not understand how these different variables can come together in a straight forward fashion..

Really pissed at myself for just trusting the guy not checking this before signing the paperwork..

Thanks for reading

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.